Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos.
Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of
this debate, and give your personal view.
Zoos continue to be controversial, even now that they have evolved into ‘animal parks’ or
similar facilities. Most people love animals, and there are strong views on both sides, which I will
discuss now.
People opposed to zoos highlight the unnatural way in which animals live in such places. For
example, captive animals do not need to hunt or raise offspring, and this means that they are not living
as nature intended. Furthermore, the anti-zoo lobby point out that animals probably suffer mentally
when kept in captivity, even if their surroundings are spacious and similar to the natural habitat.
Symptoms of mental issues range from repetitive behaviour to eating disorders, and these are often
seen in captive animals. Lastly, it is often said that zoos add little to animal conservation, which is
better served by preserving their habitat.
Conversely, those who support zoos say that in most cases they offer a secure and peaceful
setting for animals, for example in high quality wildlife parks or reserves. They add that in many
cases, the animals would suffer from loss of habitat or poaching in the wild, and in captivity they are
at least safe and able to breed successfully. Finally, zoo enthusiasts feel that zoos and animal parks
are part of an integrated system of protecting animals, involving habitat protection, breeding
programmes and disease control. This all helps to safeguard endangered species and thus preserve
the global ecosystem for the future benefit of all life forms.
Overall, I feel that zoos provide a valuable service to society and the animal world, as they
help to protect many species. This outweighs their possible disadvantages, as long as they are
properly staffed and maintained.