Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The main objective of each country is making progress in different fields. While many authorities argue that the main responsibility of governments should be economic growth, in my view, they need to attach an equal importance to other subjects too.

Many governments around the world are of the opinion that they only need to focus on financial issues as their most important duty. They assert that if councils set economic growth as the main goals, other progress will be possible too. In fact, politicians are able to cause a country earn a huge profit by their accurate policies towards other nations, such as persuading multinationals to invest in their countries. This can become an appropriate source of income to invest in a wide variety of other subjects like education. Proponents of this idea believe that making progress in other fields depends on being supported financially, meaning that economic growth, which is the first step and the most significant one, should be their main responsibilities.

However, the opposite group, including me, believe that other subjects can also be effective in the development of their country. They argue that if governments pay enough attention to other fields, such as tourism, this can lead to economic growth too. In fact, not only may tourist industry bring the fame for their country, but it can also be considered as an appropriate way to make job opportunities in the society, resulting in improving the quality of life. In addition, supporters of this argument believe that nations have several needs which are not associated to financial issues. The necessity of being reliable is an example, meaning that people in a specific country are required to be known by other nations positively. For instance, North Korea is a country where although is in a stable condition economically, its people are no satisfied as they do not have a positive international face.

In conclusion, although concentration on economic progress is a basic need which should be met, in my opinion other issues are also vitally important.