Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The most important objective for many governments is economic growth, however, some people strongly believe that other criteria, such as healthcare and education, need improvement to the same extent as the economy. In my opinion, I consider that paying attention to all the aspects is really imperative to have a developed country.

On the one hand, there are governors who think the economy is the central infrastructure of the government and by which the country can be in a stable condition. Therefore, they put most of their efforts in developing the economic system. In other words, to have a healthy society, and to facilitate the development of every other factor, considering the economy as the highest priority is vital. For example, when the country has a sustainable financial system, people would have a decent job and consequently more purchasing power, hence, they can easily cover their basic needs as well as some subsequent needs like buying a house, or a car which eventually brings more happiness and life satisfaction for the society. Furthermore, children would have a stable upbringing and high-grade education.

On the other hand, it is sometimes thought that administrations ought to dedicate enough time and effort to all the fields, not just economy and I agree. The main reason supports the idea is that progression of economic value is not the only indicator of having a robust society. For example, not a very long time ago, countries were governed by tyrants and some of them had really successful economic achievements. But many people were deprived of their very essential necessities like social justice, healthcare, and education. Women had the minimum rights, slavery was widely prevalent, and most of the people were illiterate. Thus, as long as racism, inequality, and patriarchy are ruling a country, the economy cannot have a significant role to build a thriving community.

In conclusion, while this is still an ongoing debate, I think that having equity in all the levels of society is indispensable to reach a flourishing and stable country.