Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, people have two diverging views about how government should measure their country’s progress. Although some argue that economic progress is the most essential role, I personally agree with those who believe that other measures of progress are similarly weighty.

There are several reasons why economic growth can be seen as the primary purpose of a country. First, a healthy economy can make a great result in job creation, transport network and other social services. In fact, if individuals’ income grew dramatically, the government would raise more and more resources by imposing the tax to cover the debt spending. Moreover higher revenues also can be used to invest in improving infrastructure and dealing with problems like traffic congression, natural disaster or even the social evils. Second, economic progress also ensures for nations to facilitate the globalization, which is the consequence of falling in unemployment rates and other political issues.

Besides the development of one’s national economy, other aspects also need to be treated as vitally important as the economic factor. First, human rights and citizen happiness and satisfaction should be considered as one of the most priority of authority bodies. For instance, a comprehensively developed country has narrowed the gap between the walks of life and took more concern on the poor and minority groups to maintain society’s equality. In addition, the key factor as judging the progress of a country is environmental sustainability. For example, the Chinese economy has been overheating recently, but the air pollutant increasing dramatically was the extra threats to people's health.

In conclusion, it is clear that the economic factor plays an important role in development. However, the others such as environment protection, well-being, and citizen’s happiness should be equivalently taken care