Many local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with larger supermarkets in the area.

How does this effect local communities ?

How could this situation be improved ?

In a particular area, there must be a larger supermarket where everybody goes and shops there and also several local shops that in a verge of bankcruptcy. People might be unaware of this situation, especially to the people who are ignorant to their surroundings. But, this situation has huge effect to the local communities as they experience a great loss of income.

It is clearly that everyone prefers to go to big market instead of shopping in small local stores. They believe that large supermarket provides its customer with complete necessary goods and has better quality. Meanwhile, people are oftenly skeptical about local stores as they doubt about the quality of the goods, because, obviously it is cheaper than in supermarket. Therefore, local communities will face a huge loss, and if this condition do not handle well, the stores can close due to bankcruptcy.

In order to help local stores to gain popularity among majority of people, governments and people can help by promoting local stores in many social media platform. Besides that, people can try to shop more at local stores as abundant stores have the same quality with more affordable price. For example, if there are similar type of skincare, people will more likely to buy it at supermarket as it is one of the imported goods with more popular brands. In the other hand, local shop, which only popular among locals, also sell it with similar ingredients and cheaper price. However, people are skeptical towards these things.

However, it is a difficult condition to be improved because many people already have the same mind set towards stores, but, we have to try to also support local shops, so, both of sides can face balanced benefits.