Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Most packaged foods and beverages comprise sugar as the key ingredient in large amounts which can be deleterious to health. Increasing the price of such products to discourage consumption is an idea that I believe should not be adopted and I completely disagree with it.

Firstly, people can only control their craving for sweet food when they are aware of the ill effects it causes. Even increasing the price will not stop people from consuming sweets as people who really want to consume their favourite candy or their favourite milkshake will not think twice before paying a higher price. For instance, people interested in exotic candies already pay exorbitant amount of money for them, increasing price will not affect such people. Even for commeners sweets are often the best gifts in almost all occasions and are seen as something mandatory on starting something new in many cultures. So people will be ready to pay a higher amount for the thing which is needed in every occasion. Hence, increasing the price is not a viable solution to this problem rather awareness about the ill effects of excess consumption should be promoted.

Secondly, sugary products provide us with a cheap source of energy as it contains a lot of carbohydrates breaks down quickly to give energy quickly. These are a go to snack for people who do labour intensive work or athletes. If we increase the price of such products the staple snack of a mason will change and can hinder his working capacity. Not only this it can detoriate an athletes performance over the period of time as he will want to go for pocket friendly alternatives and may not get the same result. Having such products on the market is important as it acts as a staple diet for many daily wage workers who can't afford costlier products to sasiate their hunger. Consequelty, Increasing the price will result in loss of food for a lot of such workers.

To conclude, I would say it is not ideal to increase the price of sugary products as they serve no real function; as only awareness can help control problems associated with excess consumption and such high calorie products are staple diet of a lot of poor people who will suffer the most if the change is made.