Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

It is argued that there are a prevalence of processed food and drink products containing a considerable amount of sugar, which attributes to numerous illnesses. Therefore, some people contend that those products should cost more to detect sweet lovers from buying them frequently. Personally, I totally disagree with this point of view due to the following reasons.

It is true that sugary products are the causes of obesity, diabetes, and high blood pressure; however, people have the right to eat and drink whatever they want. In fact, sweets are not only favored because of its addictive taste, but also because it was scientifically proven to uplift humans’ spirits immediately. Accordingly, though clearly knowing some of the consequences that consuming sugary products can bring about, a lot of people still embrace great interest in this sinful pleasure, and as a result, it is truly unreasonable to take measures to prevent sweet lovers from their predilections. Moreover, since people are obsessed with something, it is tough to mitigate their obsession, even when they have some difficulties with individual finance. For instance, in Vietnam, bubble milk tea is always in great demand, especially among youngsters despite its relatively high cost (around 50,000 VND per cup). Nevertheless, when the milk-tea-holics were asked about why they spent such a significant amount of money on that kind of drink on a frequent basis without much hesitation, the same answers were recorded, which were simply because of their liking for it. This example clearly proves that less affordable cost cannot affect people’s sugar consumption.

Meanwhile, from my point of view, there are still some plausible measures to reduce individuals’ sugar intake. Firstly, the government can acknowledge the public more about the side effects of consuming high levels of sugar through schools, the media, and especially on the packaging of sweetened food and drink so that consumers can control their sugar consumption more effortlessly. In addition, sugar substitutes such as honey, some kinds of fruits, or diet sugar, which are able to ensure good health, can be promoted widely to enable consumers to have a wider range of choices and as a result, use less sugar.

In conclusion, the cost of sugary products should not be made higher because everyone has the right to choose what to eat freely without restrictions. Additionally, this measure is unable to solve the problems of excessive sugar intake completely as people would always prioritize their likings in spite of some obstacles. Instead, some other potential measures like bringing more information to the public or providing them more choices can be considered to foster a more healthy eating pattern.