Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

In this day and age, companies have increasingly produced more and more high-level sugar products, which is the primary culprit of sugar-related illnesses. Some people hold a stern belief that sugary food should be put at an exorbitant price to dissuade demographics of society from purchasing sugar-sweetened products. This essay will argue why the rising price of those products is not effective despite the potential perks that it brings about.

To begin with, some people believe that should they make sweet food more expensive, the overall well-being of consumers would be developed. This is for the reason that the extravagant price acts as a mental hindrance to make them reconsider buying sugary food. Thus, consumers will ignore them and spend money on other types of products. For instance, confectionery has been selling at roughly doubly higher price than the others in Japan. As the result, it is Japan that accounts for the lowest rate of disease in relation to sugar intake. In summary, some people believe that the expensive prices of sweet commodities will affect customers’ psychology and reduce the ratio of sugary illnesses.

In spite of the advantages associated with rising sweet food prices, the idea is unnecessary. This is because people who have had a sugar addiction will keep paying money for satisfying their cravings regardless of how exorbitant sugar-based products are. Additionally, a diet that contains an abundance of sugar is because of not only the producers but also consumers who have the salient responsibility for choosing types of food. Indeed, there have been many recorded circumstances of consumers who have been obese due to consuming sugary commodity although it has an exorbitant price. Overall, the idea that increasing the price of the sugary product is entirely anecdotal as well as ill-informed, and it could potentially lead to a far worse outcome for society.

In conclusion, this essay argued that people who suggest increasing the prices of confectionery are having a flawed understanding of the factors leading to sugar-based illnesses and the effects of what they believe. In my opinion, hindering sugar-related sicknesses does not merely fall into companies, but the society itself.