Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

While some museums are totally fee-free for visitors, others require admission fee. This phenomenon does not entirely bring merits, several drawbacks are hidden behind.

On the one hand, there are no rooms for doubts that charging visitors is irrational. Firstly, museums, like other historical sites, are public educational places which are supposed to be openly available for everyone. For local citizens, it seems unplausible to pay money to study about their historical background. Thus, people cannot show their nostalgia or appreciate the precious peace in which they are living, due to lack of historical knowledge. Furthermore, this could be an obstackle for globalization. Apparently, tourism is truely an efficient way to exchange culture among countries, and museums play an integral role. That is why admission fee can be regarded as an invisible barrier.

However, on the other hand, we need to scrutinize the phenomenon at an opposite angle. If museums are non-profit organizations, who will pay for maintainance and development? It is inevitable that money from donations or sponsors are not enough to restore or even redecorate the buildings and facilities. Moreover, when visitors pay for admission tickets, there will surely staff with professionals whose job is to guide visitors. Therefore, this can enhance the quality of the trip.

In conclusions, charging visitors should not be prohibited but the fee should be affordable.