Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of nation's history.

However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices.

How important is t to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Taking for granted that a large number of old buildings deem as treasures for many nations because they were built thousand years ago. Hence, a vigorous debate has been sparked over whether these old building should be demolished or not. In my opinion, it is absolutely essential to maintain them as they are an integral part of the history, but this does not mean to halt the advance.

Undoubtedly, keeping old buildings has a historical significance, for they provide an insight into the history. Thus, citizens can relish their architectural heritage. Moreover, these old buildings contribute to promoting tourism owing to their classical architecture, so it will revive the economy. For example, one of the oldest buildings in Egypt is the Pyramids that attract tourists from foreign countries to see these wonders. As a result, by protecting old buildings, not only will they boost tourism, but they also will shape the character of the country. However, a question must be asked, could the history impede progress?

To achieve progress, there are sundry ways, but destroying old buildings is not one of them. To enumerate, old building could be refurbished in order to be consistent with modern architecture by using technological advancement in construction. For example, in England, classical buildings are adjacent to the modern building which give a picturesque view. As a result, by virtue of old buildings, the nation will preserve their historical heritage and enhance the development.

In conclusion, old buildings play an important role in forming the character of a country. Accordingly, I believe old buildings should be protected due to their great values, and the history could stand side by side to progress.