Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Historical buildings embody and represent the past marks and fingerprints. Although, in many countries, the buildings are secured by the legal enforcement, some citizens advocate that they should be demolished and new buildings should be erected. This essay will discuss the importance of these buildings and try to find a reply the question that are they really a matter in the way of advance.

On the one hand, ancient buildings are memory of nations, so they might be used for beneficial ways such as tourism rather than destroying them. In other words, to build healthy futures, people should understand their ancestor’s life and experiences, and creates their new generations according to this codes. Furthermore, they can preserve old buildings and open for touristic aims. For example, preserved Chernobyl plants, where people faced the most destructive-environmental disaster of human history, is nowadays flooded by tourist who are interested in to experience the malicious result of radioactivity. Therefore, historical buildings teach some lessons to people who are enthusiastic to visit and learn from these places.

In addition, some historical structures may help the progression itself rather than hindering it. To put simply, scientist use the prior models or ancient structures to develop better ones. A case in this point, according to an archeologist from Harvard University, new city plans may be inspired from the old cities like Maya civilization. Although these city arrangements are too old, new designs has not reached their levels. Thus, the older structures may spark a light for new advancements.

To conclude, in spite of the idea that old buildings protected by rulers should be destroyed, I utterly believe that historical buildings and past must be protected, and also, they can be beneficial as well.