Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The relation between advertisement of goods and sale rates is debatable due to the unsteady and unpredictable features of both. Some people believe that fashionable goods’ consumption reflects the power of adverts rather than the genuine demands of the community. In my opinion, advertisement has not enough strength to affects people’s choices at all.

To begin with, popular culture is established by today’s people ,who are indeed well-educated, and have wise to determine what they are really want or not. In other words, public literacy has increased in the past decades and stemmed liberal individuals who are rarely dominated external factors such as TV commercials or radio spots. For example, an online technology giant, Amazon company shared a survey results in 2018. According to this, the consumers who buy popular items make their choices depending on the comparison results on the websites, in spite of taking care of advertisements. Thus, nowadays it is hard to say that people buy things just depending on the adverts.

Furthermore, an advertisement usually becomes successful if this commercial product is a real need for this society. To put simply, when a correct product, which is a vital demand for all public, is launched in exact time, this increase the booming of the product in the market even not needs too intense advertisement bombarding. A case in this point, although many people likes ice-cream, the sales of the ice-cream reach the top in summer seasons as result of the raised demand in the public. So that, advertisement may be a just catalyser not the main dominator of the popular products’ sales.

To sum up, in spite of suggesting that people buy unneeded popular goods under the influence of powerful advertisement, I believe that people have enough intellectuality to determine their needs and buy them without influenced by external factors.