In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they by punished?

It is true that there is an ever-increasing rate of juvenile delinquents all over the world. There are numerous reasons could be identified for this criminal behaviour of those young offenders, who should be punished accordingly with different punishments.

At least two reasons could explain for this criminal tendency of children and teenagers. One possible motivation for them is that they have been living in economically deprived background, meaning that they have to struggle on a daily basis to earn a living, as a way to help their low-income parents. Experencing hardships and discomforts for a long time could cultivate law-breaking intentions in their mindset, in a mistaken belief that they could escape from their poor standards of living. Besides, another incentive for them to turn to crime career could be that they was born and raised in a family that have working parents who have insufficient time to instil in their offspring basic code of conduct and deter them from offending intentions. Those children, therefore, are highly susceptible to crime, especially copycat crime, once they tried to emulate offenders' behaviour on television.

Appropriate punishments, thereafter, should be imposed for those delinquent children depending on their level of committing crimes. For those teenage shoplifters, for instance, they should be educated compulsorily in special educational classes where they are taught by police officers who could instruct them about the consequences of all criminal acts. This could, therefore, have the deterrent effects on those children and teenagers themselves to prevent them from breaking the law. Whereas, with regard to dangerous criminals such as arsonists and vandals, a zero tolerant policy is essential, although they are still young. Prison sentence could be applied in this crime, for instance.

In conclusion, children and teenagers who come from poor background families and upbringing could be subject to criminal tendency. Proper punishments are crucial for them depending on different criminal activities.