Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

Some people argue that instead of studying few specific subjects, University students should study a wide range of subjects. Although studying range of subjects will give students vast knowledge of many different fields but they won't be able to gain expertise in one career field they like. This essay will discuss how studying some specific subjects is better for one's career rather than studying many subjects.

It is believed that studying many different subjects will open plethora of different career opportunities for a student, with the knowledge of various streams one can implement them together if required all by herself or himself. Electronic engineers for example nowadays have to learn programming languages, mobile and web development to adapt to fast growing technical era, these topics originally belongs to the computer science stream , if these topics would have been there in their curriculum one may not need to devote extra time and money to learn them. Due to all these reasons many people are inclined towards having full range of subjects in University's courses.

However, many disagree with this fact and want University's degree to be specialized towards one core field. Having in depth knowledge of few core subjects will will give students a head start on their professional career. For instance, many global leading companies require experts in their company for work such as management, hardware and software developing etc. This is where having an expertise will come in handy, most of the times firms will prefer people who have sufficient skills and require no or very less time for training period. All of these reasons give one a huge advantage and counter the fact of learning many subjects for a successful career.

Overall, while studying many subjects in a university education may prove to be helpful in some jobs, person with better understanding of specific work have higher chances of getting their dream job