Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Ammu Helen

4:34 PM (0 minutes ago)

to me

In recent years, social media and banking websites have grown in popularity because of the ease with which many tasks can be done. In order to sign up for these websites personal information must be given. This development is negative. This essay will discuss why this development is negative.

Providing personal information such as telephone number and address is a risk because it can violate one’s privacy. Bank websites require a person to input their card numbers, date of expiration, PIN numbers and CVV. If bank servers are hacked the hacker can find out all of one’s personal information just by accessing their profile on the banks databases. This sensitive information being leaked can cause the hacker to remotely transfer all the money from the person’s account to their own.

Social media websites urge people to submit all of their information including their address and contact information in order to make it easier for them to make use of the facilities provided on their platform. They will even tell their users that they will not display or share this information unless they are given permission. They then usually proceed to violate the privacy of their users by selling this information to the highest bidder. This is a security risk as we do not know who this information is sold to and what their intentions are.

In conclusion, this development is a negative one as a person could be putting themselves, their money or their family in danger. People must be careful and should not share all of their personal and sensitive information online as that decision could come back to negatively affect them.