Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for
purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking.
Is this a positive or negative development?
Tremendous progress has been made in recent decades in the field of technology. People now have
the ability to browse the internet and sign in to social media applications as well as conduct banking
activities online. This has become a negative development as companies are given unrestricted
access to personal information and as it also provides opportunities for identity theft.
The major issue caused by the convenience of such technology is the violation of the consumers'
privacy. If an individual desires to create an account to any social media website, they must first
provide the company with their personal details. By giving them such access, the company is able to
use it for their own best interests. Take, for instance, the lawsuit filed against Facebook. An
investigation found them to be unethically using the personal information of their users to market
specific products through pop up adverts.
Another problem that has seen a rise in recent times is hacking and theft. Many people enter their
bank details on to the internet for easier access and the ability to conduct transactions from
anywhere in the world. While this is extremely beneficial, it also leaves individuals vulnerable and
susceptible to theft. Advancements in technology has led to new threats such as hacking, while is
highly likely to occur when banking information is provided on the internet, even with adequate
security measures.
In conclusion, people being capable of signing into accounts on the internet has provided numerous
advantages, but at the same time has provided new areas of concern, as the privacy of the
individuals using such websites are compromised and causes them to be in fear of online theft. Thus,
what should have been a positive development turned into a negative one.