Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking.

Is this a positive or negative development?

The internet has revolutionised the way people interact with the world , the way people share information with others and use social media as a source of entertainment.This requires the people to share their personal data with the internet such as name,address,numbers etc. This essay will talk about the issues with people sharing personal data online.

Firstly, sensitive information about a person cannot be shared on a public forum , as it leads to people being vulnerable to attacks. No matter how trusted and reputed a website or application might be , there are ways to decipher a persons whereabouts and data. People share their bank details and addresses for online shopping websites such as amazon and eBay that can be exploited by hackers who can pinpoint the location of the persons home and their banking credentials as all of the payments are made through an online medium that leaves a digital carbon footprint which can be traced.

In addition , the usage of PIN number through the internet leads to greater threats as the persons bank account is up for grabs which won’t be detected immediately by the banks. It is equivalent to a person leaving their credit card in the ATM with the pin written on it. A person using their e-mail to sign up for online subscriptions and newsletters are in risk of data piracy as they open themselves up to cyberattacks and other means of theft.

In conclusion , there are many modes of online exploitation that are prevalent and continue to grow in number and complexity. Therefore it is important to be vigilant about the sites that require sensitive personal information as it can be used against the person themselves