Modern technology has a great impact on our environment. Some say that people should adopt a simple lifestyle to solve the problem while others argue that the technology itself should provide a solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The modern technological advancements have made life easier for the people. The technology, however, comes at a price. The price is sometimes paid as adverse environmental effects across the globe. A faction of population believes, the technology which puts the environment at great risk, shall also bring forth the solutions while another school of thought is to make changes in our lives.

The simple lifestyle will leave us without certain gadgets or luxuries and making their existence superfluous. They were invented and developed to make our lives easier and hence, should have continuous presence in our lives. Nowadays, these inventions have become necessities rather than luxury e.g. cars and mobile phones, and no matter how much pollution and greenhouse effect they cause, one cannot get rid of them. Hence, one should look for solutions to these problems rather than shutting them down.

Intellectuals are around the globe are using cutting edge technology to devise solutions to mitigate the risks of global warming and climate change. Roads are being made by plastics to recycle them and make them more durable. Another fine example is an electric car which can substitute the conventional ones to cut emission. Such initiatives help in reducing the carbon footprint while trying to undo the damage caused by years of exploitation of the planet. Even though policies are being formulated and technology being used to fight environmental issues, the pace is still slow.

Hence, in my opinion, one needs to find a compromise between the two approaches. Instead of getting rid of technology and live a simple life, one need to develop the environment friendly alternatives to the current necessities.

To conclude, I believe the wheel of technology is unstoppable and we should turn it towards the eco-friendly initiatives rather than trying to stopping it altogether.