In the modern world, a university education is essential in order to get a rewarding job and earn a high salary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of human civilization, people have recognized the value of education, and universities are considered as the highest institutions, to gain knowledge from. At present, to have a good job with handsome pay, it is very important to have a suitable university degree. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this fact.

To begin with, there is no doubt that university education enables us to seek a better employment opportunity, with greater financial benefits, as it prepares us to tackle real life situations, that are very helpful in our professional lives. For example, no one can imagine becoming a doctor, unless he/she goes through a rigorous university training for a longer duration. But once the competency of being a doctor is attained, a person can lead a respectable and prosperous life. In contrast, there are certain professions, like artists, singers, or athletes, where talent and self-motivation are more important than having a university degree, and yet there are good financial benefits available.

Furthermore, universities are also offering numerous knowledge upgrade programs for working professionals of all levels. These programs help the professionals to update with recent, as well as upcoming trends, and in turn, to progress in their career. For instance, Harvard University periodically organizes an Artificial Intelligence course for practicing surgeons across the globe, which enables already successful surgeons, to meet the needs of constantly evolving surgical techniques. However, these frequent upgrades are increasing competition among working individuals.

To conclude, with exceptions of a few professions, where personal abilities and talent are more important, university education is a key to achieve professional excellence in terms of job and salaries.