Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries traveled to.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of human civilization, travelling has been a very rewarding activity, both in terms of business and education. It enables us to learn about new culture and social practices. While some people believe that travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to, I do believe that in spite of a few concerning issues, travel is mostly beneficial for these travel destinations. In this essay, I would like to discuss about the advantages and disadvantages of travelling upon the visited countries.

To begin with, I would like to discuss about the tourism industry, that is one of the major backbones of economy for many countries like Mauritius, Maldieves, Thailand and Carrebian Islands. The tourists not only provide source of income for hotels, travel agencies, transportation facilities, but also help the local government to generate revenue form the tourist attractions in form of visiting tickets, souveniers, special events and charity. Besides that it also provides business to the local shops and resturants. I would also like to mention about medical tourism, which is providing relatively cheaper and faster medical care to patients and also helping the medical infrastructure to generate revenue and grow in the host country.

However, there are a few drawbacks of travelling on the host countries too. These include pollution, destruction of nature, propagation of illegal acts and practices like prostitution and drug trafficking etcetra. I would like to give an example from my home country. In India, we have a very beautiful coastal destination, Goa, which always attracted tourists because of it's natural beauty. However since Goa became popular among globetrotters, it has become the hub for drug cartels and traffickers in India. It has destroyed the future of many Goan youngsters and ended them up in jails.

To conclude, I would like to clarify my position regarding the negative impact of travel on the destination countries by saying that I disagree with this opinion. Although as a tourist, we must realize our responsibility towards these exotic locations in terms of not polluting or damaging them and we shall preserve them for generations to come. I believe that travel has more to give these locations than what it takes from there.