More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Although cities are usually seen as places of opportunity, there are also many major disadvantages of living in large metropolis. However, I personally think that governments can take more effective measures to facilitate urban life for people.

It cannot be denied that living in a big downtown exerts pernicious impacts upon people in a great number of ways. The first problem that most people have to deal with is higher cost of living in comparison with rural life. They stand higher chances of paying higher prices for transportation, house-renting and even food. Secondly, cities lack a sense of community as people do not even know their neighbors, and it is sometimes described as “concrete jungles ”. Furthermore, locating in urban areas takes higher risks suffering from social problems such as crime , poverty. Finally, the air quality is often poor due to smoke from traffic congestion, which in turn leads to many detrimental problems related to respiratory systems including cough, flu and so on.

On the other hand, there are various steps that governments are able to take to solve this problem. Firstly, authorities should invest more money into affordable buildings for people who have just migrated to the big metropolis. Besides, they should set up more places of interests so that both parents and children in a located neighbor can play together. Furthermore, they have the power to apply prohibition policy for vehicles which exhaust too much fume and promote the use of clean public transports and public systems to reduce air pollution and traffic congestion. Also, governments should move manufacturers or factories to the countryside and small towns to create a balance between these places in a country.

In conclusion, in spite of some drawbacks in big cities, authorities should implement necessary measures to enhance the quality of urban life.