More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extend do you agree?

It is true that some of scientifically untreated problems involving human derived from their new ways of life and the trend towards conventional methods to treat this problem is becoming common. While I agree that traditional medicine may be effective in certain conditions, I am of the opinion that modern medicine has still the pivotal role to play in curing new types of diseases.

On the one hand, various types of traditional medicine are highly recommended to address some annoying problems. For example, having been under a huge volume of pressure related to the work, people are often suffering from insomnia. In order to solve this issue, acupuncture, as an oldest treating ways, can be much more effective than chemical drugs. In fact, not only does it assist people to eradicate this illness, but also it is entirely free of side effects. In addition most type of conventional methods are based on herbs and plants which are normally consistent with human nature and may have a positive effect on their mind.

On the other hand, with considering all benefits of traditional medicine, it is not rational to rely on them. Firstly, there are enormous evidences illustrating the high rate of mortality in the past. It means that old methods had not been enough efficient in treating current diseases such as cholera and plague just to name. As a result, these methods are not likely to be applicable to cure today's serious problems like cancer or diabetes. Moreover, modern medicine is going to be progressed with a rapid pace, while traditional remedies have been mainly constant over time. Although it seems that there is not initially a certain treatment for new emerged problems, extensive medical research are conducted continuously to find a solution, which are generally successful. In other words, if these new diseases had been appeared in the past, undoubtedly a great deal number of people would have died and ancient methods would not been adequate to tackle with them.

In conclusion, I believe that traditional medicine can act as a supplementary treatment along with modern ways to fight with novel diseases.