More and more prisons are being built to house the world’s criminals and many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that medical and psychological assistance is what is required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widespread content over tackling the crime issue. While some people consider long-term incarceration to be a key to reducing the crime rate, which is burgeoning rapidly, others believe the most importance is from medical and psychological aid. Therefore, my essay will analyze these both views and propose my opinion.

One the one hand, promoting the prison term is an acceptable method which has been used as a traditional pattern in many nations. It has two benefits: Firstly, it plays a role of an alarm to warn future crimes. Accordingly, if someone has a criminal thought, they will be dismayed and appalled due to the long-term detainment, consequently not commit a crime. Secondly, it is a record that many offenders being releasing quickly convict and go to jail again because they not afraid of incarceration and be accustomed to rob or murder. A long time detainment may be a rigorously sound method for this case. To be explicit, a long sentence will hold prisoners out of the outside world and restrain them from possibly criminal acts.

On the other hand, medical and mental assistances are acknowledged as an effective way for reducing the level and rate of crimes. It has been conducted in Poland and Japan, where have a crime absence. For various researchers, committing a crime is relevant to mental issues such as patients have an illusion of becoming heroes or suffer from stimulant syndromes due to heroin and alcohol. For this reason, a treatment of diseases will be a suitable method helping patients recognize a reality and find themselves. Furthermore, it is a soft and humanitarian manner which inclines to the development of humankind instead of restraining them. As a result, human will awake their humanism.

In conclusion, I believe both methods have positive benefits but the second manner is the best way to decrease the crime rate and this is demonstrated in low- crime countries like Japan, Netherland. Governments should adopt this method in their countries.