Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do multinational companies have a responsibility toward

local communities in which they operate?

In the era of globalization, countless firms run on an international scale. From my perspective, these companies should put more emphasis on contributing to the development of the communities where they have located in several aspects.

To begin with, the prime onus that myriad multinational enterprises should take responsibility for is to preserve the environment. It is an undeniable truth that these firms have posed a serious threat to the surroundings such as releasing air pollutants into the atmosphere as well as discharging wastewater. Besides, natural resources have been confronting overuse by industrial companies. Similarly, unsustainable logging of timber for construction or paper manufacture may have serious effects on local farmers due to resultant

soil erosion and taking a death toll on the living organisms surrounding. Therefore, it is imperative for multinational enterprises not only to make a commitment to restrict the level of contaminants emitted but also to guarantee the long-standing prosperity of local communities.

Additionally, the major global companies can support the local societies by creating employment with the view of ensuring the workers are entitled to adequate salaries to meet their demands. Providing considerable jobs near residents’ houses can do a favor for the locals in terms of commuting and saving money. People can travel to work in a short distance which can save their time and money. Besides, the scheme is contributed to reducing the unemployment rate in this area, facilitating economic advancements in the long run. For instance, according to Vnexpress, the Samsung company in Hanoi has given a huge number of jobs to more than half of its inhabitants.

To sum up, it is my conviction that multinational firms have a duty that improves the standard of living in local communities in which they have conducted their operations by implementing some measures.