As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Some people work in a flexible environment while others are exposed to stressful conditions. If we love our work, we will spend much of our lives doing things that we are enjoying, so, job satisfaction plays a vital role in ensuring our well-being. There are many contributing factors to job satisfaction, including salaries, social status, and the challenges.

The prime element leads to job satisfaction is money. Virtually all workers consider salaries or wages are the majority factors when they apply for a job. Furthermore, some people equate the wealth and social status with happiness and wellness. They take the payment as a measure position in the society, the more money a person earning per month, the higher social position she or he has. Another primary factor could be promotions to highly achievable workers. For example, if a worker in a factory can fix a break down of a machine, it is illogical not to award this worker. Thanks to this award, the worker will be confident and delicate to his job,

On the other side, some people may have well-paying jobs, but they are still unhappy because they do not like what they are doing or their works are un-challenges. There are also some people who find satisfaction in helping others and money does not motivate them.

Unfortunately, while it is true that everyone seeks for a satisfying job, few people manage to find it. It is hard for every worker to find a job that contains all factors as mentioned above. Although they do not like their job, it seems they cannot entirely it since they need money for daily activities such as food and house payment or to support their family. This dissatisfaction with their work and lack of motivation lead to a variety of health problems such as related-cardiovascular problems and heart attack.

To sum up, while for some people job satisfaction includes salaries, promotions or social status, others find happiness when they can do the things that they enjoy and can find the challenges inside of the work. Everyone seeks job satisfaction, however, a few people manage to find it.