Nowadays children are consuming too many sugar based drinks What are the reasons and the solutions for this situation

The proportion of people consuming sugar containing drinks is extremely increased in recent years. This is mainly caused by the changes in persons' lifestyles, while there are a number of solutions to eliminate this along with government's incentives and companies' campaigns.

The reason why people choose more sugar-based drinks is their different behavior in terms of their dietary lifestyle. The modern culture has today's people consuming fast food with soft drinks or canned drinks, which may be more convenient according to their responsibilities and style of living. Moreover, people are affected by the advertisements and TV's anchors who basically promote sugar based drinks. As a result, individuals, and especially teenagers change, their habits more easily. To illustrate this, the most profitable company in Greece is the 3cents firm, which owns the titled soft drink; the majority of advertisements in the media and the means of transportation promote this drink entering in everyday life of Greeks.

The aforementioned high consumption of sugar based drinks can be decreased effectively if governments and companies move towards this goal. With regards to governments, health education could be a solution by advising and instructing people about the risks and the health problems related to the high intake of sugar. People should be aware of the serious effects of sugar, for example the diabetes. Meanwhile, companies should launch campaigns which would inform people about the inimical effects of sugar consumption rather than promoting only the pleasant side of their drinks. By doing this people would reduce consuming such drinks and have more awareness about health problems.

To sum up, the high proportion of people drinking sugar-based drinks is due to the transformation in their habits. However, it can be reduced with joint actions by societies and enterprises.