Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In modern times, the issue of job types has become highly controverisal. There are those who say that making your own work is the best, however, others belive that it is not. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why people believe that being self-employed is better than working for an organisation and outline the downsides of being self-employed.

Generally speaking, there are two main reason why people believe that making your own work is the best. Perhaps, the most obvious cause of this idea is because employers provide tiny salaries for employees. This can lead to make people desparate about their economic conditions, thus, they feel strong enough to start their own work. A good illustration of this is Nusret who is a chef from Turkey. When he was a young chef, he was gaining tiny salaries but he has to look after for his siblings. He has taken all risks and open a luxury restaurant named “Nusr-et”. Other main reason of this idea is work conditions. After Industrial Revolution, companies and employers have started to make demand for working long hours. Furthermore, employees have very heavy workload and under too much pressure now. The result of bad work conditions is that employees are unhappy about their jobs, which in turn leads to starting their own jobs instead of working in an organisation.

However, there are a plethora of disadvantages of being self-employed. Firstly, there is a high risk. For example, if people start to run their own business, they can be face-to-face with business world’s problems such as economic crysis or devoluation. After these problems, disappointment will be unevitable for weak businesses. Secondly, nowadays, the amount of expenditure for even a little shop is colossal. Not every people can afford this, so, people who want to run their own business can totally lost their all money. This is because, their economic profiles are generally low when they want to start their own work.

In conclusion, it must be said that being self-employed has become a complex issue with no easy solutions and also, it has clear disadvantages. In my opinion, the best solution to tackle all problems associated with job is that policy makers have to make good policies and politic authorities have to pass new laws. If appropriate policies had been implemented by governments, everything would have been different in terms of job conditions today.