Write about the following topic :

Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In these days, the issue of national goals has become highly controversial. There are those who say that the most important goal for a country is economic progress, however others believe that all types of progress have equal importance for a country. In this essay I will examine the both sides of these views and provide my overall opinion.

There is a wide range of ideas that economic progress has the most importance for a country. Perhaps, the main argument of this is that countries can not achieve other goals without economic resource. For example, a country which has many goals such as education, militarian, science etc. needs economic resource for its all goals. If it wants to improve education facilities, then it has to take appropriate steps such as building universities, providing education materials, funding etc. Many governments agree with this idea and they implement unique policies for their economy rather than other goals. Another argument, from a political point of view, countries which have weak economy can not be independent. A good illustration of this is that Syria must take economic aid from Russia and Islamic Republic of Iran, because Syria has not power to handle its economy and addicted to these two countries.

On the other hand, there are two main ideas of that all types of progress have equal seriousness for a country. The key reason of this trend is that education improvements rebuild country's system of economy. If genious and hard-working students graduate and start to work for their country, this will lead to improvement of serious national economic change. Other argument of this view is that money can not buy happiness. A good illustration of this is that people from Brazil are happier than people from the USA. The USA is the richest nation in the world but some problems make their people sad, such as traffic problems, crime rate etc. As a result, American people are not the happiest in the world whereas their country is the richest.

In conclusion, it must be said that there are many strong arguments of both sides and this issue has become an essential part of contries' policies. Having considered both sides of the issue, in my opinion I strongly believe that economic progress is the most important goal of a country. If a country which has strong economic conditions has problems with any issue, it can solve it quickly but countries with weak economy are not be able to solve most of issues without good economic conditions.