Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

Being self-employed is increasingly popular nowadays and many people prefer not to work for a company or organization.

There are several reasons for this situation. Most importantly, being self-employed allows people to have a more flexible schedule and less stressful lifestyle, which are actually the main drawbacks of working for a company. For example, a freelancer can choose when and where to finish the jobs from customers as long as it can be submitted in time. This often leads to enhanced productivity and quality, benefiting both the freelancer and the customers. In addition, a freelancer does not need to worry about the company policy such as dressing, he or she could have the ultimate freedom to finish the jobs. Moreover, being self-employed does not mean to have a lower income. Freelancers set the price of their work totally by themselves, which may even result in higher revenue on some occasions.

However, there are also some disadvantages of being self-employed. Firstly, freelancers have to pay for their insurance without the help of companies. In many countries, employers pay the majority part of employees' insurance, which significantly reduces the burden on their employees. Therefore, being self-employed means that people can no longer have such benefits, putting pressure on them. Secondly, people who are self-employed often find it difficult to get enough jobs from their customers, due to the fierce competition in the market. This means that freelancers are more vulnerable to unexpected accidents than typical employees in a company. As a result, freelancers are more likely to lose their source of income.

To conclude, many people choose to be self-employed nowadays because it is more flexible but less stressful. However, there are also drawbacks of being self-employed, including heavier economic burden and more vulnerable to accidents.