Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is fact that there are many young couples who tend to defer their parenthood these days. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when people get married at later stages of lives. Firstly, aged people are able to experience the prenatal and postnatal period which may adversely affect on their health. For example, postnatal depression could be arised because their health will be declined during pregnancy and childcare stages. The second impact is that later childbirth is a main culprit of significant age gap between two generations. It is arduous for parents to understand and communicate with their offspring.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more remarkable then such disadvantages. One reason for this trend is that singles have more time to lay a sound foundation for their future career at the early stages of employment. For instance, the experience of young labors will be accumulated to achieve high job promotions without any interruptions. Another reason is that kids are raised better by older parents. They not only reap the comprehensive education, but also inherit more good conditions in term of healthcare services or healthy meals and snacks. As a result, the children born to more wealthy parents can contribute to the society when they grow up.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of this having later babies is more significant than the disadvantages.