nowadays museums have become more and more important. What are the purposes of places such as museums and how should they be funded

It is not uncommon to find a variety of museums, such as history museums, science museums, art galleries, or even some private museums whenever an individual goes to visit a city. In fact, museums have become an integral part of a local place's cultural development.

Museums serve proposes in terms of education, entertainment as well as cultural and historical heritage preservation. From the perspective of education, museums provide visitors with first-hand experiences of antiques or artworks, from which they can connect what they have learned via books, the Internet, or schooling to what they see in museums. Thus, museums can stimulate people's interests and enthusiasm in new areas, inspiring them to explore knowledge more deeply. Also, museums afford visitors a sense of entertainment and amusement. With technological advances, visitors have more access to exhibitions in diverse forms, which means people are more available to a multi-sensory journey in museums. When it comes to the preservation of local historical and cultural heritage, museums also play a pivotal role. In fact, some well-known museums are regarded as indispensable scenic spots by travelers, promoting the reputation of local culture.

However, many museums are still lack of adequate funding to operate today, especially for some newly-built ones. Personally, I suggest that the government should allocate an appropriate proportion of its expenditure to local museums, improving its infrastructure to serve the public better. Besides, museums are supposed to depend on their own strengths, exploiting the potential markets by selling souvenirs, such as booklets of exhibits or specific handicrafts. In this way, museums would fund themselves and, at the same time, meet their visitors' demands.