Nowadays sport is becoming a big business with high earnings for professional sportspeople and a lot of companies have involved in financially and in other ways Is it a positive or negative development of sport

The inclusion of corporates in sports is common these days, it is often seen that business professionals pour a huge amount of sums on players as well finance in several other ways. This is certainly a positive development, however, its adverse side should not be neglected.

To begin with, since entrepreneurs have stepped into the field of sports, player's economic status has drastically increased. firstly In the past around 1970 cricket player's used to receive a low salary because they were being paid solely by the cricket board, due to that many former cricketers gave up their games and elected another job to run their livelihood. But at present gamers earn beyond their imagination, for example, in the Indian Premier League New Zealand's pacer Kyle Jemison was sold for 160 million INR just for one season, however, after getting a gigantic amount from his franchise his responsibility as a player had emerged more, which he had proven by giving extraordinary performances throughout the season. this means making a huge investment in players encourage them to give a competitive performance which is a significant way to improves the standard of that particular game. Apart from this when these entrepreneurs allocate a huge amount of money to any team or players, they expect more revenue in return by promoting their products by eminent sports personalities so it is a win-win situation for both either player or franchise owner.

On the other hands, sometimes extensive funding on a player from corporate turn them into the gold digger due to the fact, they always tend to run behind the most profitable league, for example, the West Indies cricket board had banned their senior players for a few years because prefered participating in money showering cricket league instead of national duties. Furthermore, it is sometimes seen that sports professional are indulged in match-fixing just for the sake of earning more money, like in 2013 Indian premier league few sports persons were suspected of fixing after that Indian cricket board terminated the entire team for the next two additions, consequently many other new talents who was expecting to be part for next season felt disappointed. In addition, entrepreneurs do not like to put their money low earning sports events, they always invest in the most profitable games.

In conclusion, while some activities like sports merchandising or earning from sport are beneficial for sportsmen to some extent, I believe there are few drawbacks which should be taken into account by sports authorities to flourish sports industry.