Nowadays the use of social media such as facebook twitter and so on is becoming more popular than one on one conversation Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

At present, internet plays a vital role in almost every aspect of human life. As a result, traditional conversation spectrum has also changed from in person to virtual; speaking of which, social media platforms such as facebook, twitter, instagram are gaining popularity currently over personal communication. Here, this essay intends to discuss merits of this happening outweigh demerits.

On the one hand, owing to social media, this world has turned into a global village. At present, people can easily reach to their kith and kin residing at overseas. For instance, due to video call feature of whasapp, not only I can be in daily touch with my parents who are living in Qatar, but also at free of cost. Unfortunately, such socials apps were not in existence few decades ago and people had to spend hefty sum of money at STD booth for making an international phone call. Therefore, digital platform has become a prime choice of vast majority of the mass.

However, on the other hand, since meetings and conversations have shifted to virtual medium, some people have become not only practical, but also they lack interpersonal skills. For example, as per recent study by city council, members living on metropolitan areas are gradually becoming introvert. Nevertheless, tendency of avoiding personal touch could be a personal choice which should not be projected as negative outcome over bright sides of digital media. Thus, it is clear that although some demerits which may vary from person to person, merits of social platforms cannot be overlooked at the cost of few negligible downsides.

In summary, due to internet and online applications, people have become closer than ever which is a boon in this contemporary period. Hence, merits of this technological shift outweigh demerits. As such, it is predicted that positive outcome of this phenomena will forever be stronger than negative ones.