Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationship people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has glided into our lives unknowingly. Indeed, it has changed the way we interact with everyone around us both positively and negatively.

Technology, or the internet in particular has broaden ways we could build relationships we never could in the past. To respond to the invention, new applications are introduced everyday. Meeting new people is now not a major concern, whether you are miles away or within the same neighbourhood. For instance, ‘Tinder’ - the online dating application allow users to meet their potential partner(s) by just a swipe. If agreed, users could arrange to meet face-to-face and develop the relationship. Many people has find it very convenient and a lot, do actually find partners via the app. Also, online communities allow netizens to feel the sense of belonging, as people with common interests would be able to open up and interact with each other online in the same interested sites.

In addition, technology could help enhance relationships that are long-distanced. In the past we would have to call someone, wait for them to answer, call again, and physically being next to a big telephone unable to move too far. We wouldn’t be able to see the person’s face. Now, long-distance could be made shorter. Video calls could be made, from and to anywhere in the world with internet. We also could drop a message and it would instantly send to the other person in no time.

On the other perspective, technology could make a relationship go worse if excessively used. Imagine going out to socialise with friends, but the only thing they do is consistently on the phone. Yes, technology helps enhance some relationships, but the ones we are interacting face-to-face are equally as important.

In conclusion, technology has created an opportunity and new ways we interact with people we never could before. New applications are developed everyday, making our lives much more convenient. However, technology should not be used to the point where users are addicted to them, this can create discord towards relationships.