Nowdays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age we prefer online platforms rather then real life when it comes to communications. There are several obvious benefits in this new lifestyle though it may have extrimely bad consequances as well. As widely known fact if we adopt this approach we may benefit only in short term. But the long Term consequences will effect our society negatively which will probably take over the possitive ones.

Speaking of positives we count time efficiency and joy. For example the online platforms make our social life more sophsticated and more enjoyable. There are numerous tools prepared for that such as emotional smileys, information sharing possibilities, dozens of shortcuts for different reasons and all of them are prepared to make our diving is network more entertaining and simple. This simple ways of our self expression are very time efficient as many of them can be done by just one click of a button. This possiblities are so engaging that many people prefer to socialize through technologies over face to face communication. More ofthen than not it is clear to notice that people are more integrated with their online life than with the real one which in the long run causes in development of negative habbits and consequences.

One of the evident drawbacks is addiction to online life which effects on real-life communication skills. Social platforms create an artificial envirement where the user always has more attention, importance and recognition to compare to the real life. It is also well known fact that receiving feedback every time creates a dose of dopamine which is responsible for our happy feeling and users become easily addicted to not real happiness by receiving this doze in bigger quantities than being used to. As a result the time spent online starts to take over the moments lived in the real life and human pshycology starts to experience a regression in non-virtual communication skills. Also attending real life events starts to be uncomforatble and unusual where the need of artificial happiness results in depression and stress which can even lead to paranoia.

To sum up all in one, being online can be benefitial sometimes, but with no control on spending time there will effect our real life and even pshycology negatively.