In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, infrastructure and transportation are more and more a challenge to countries around the world, specially for those in development. Some people believe that public money should funding modern railways lines to connect cities, while others support the idea that money should be spend to improve the existing public transport. In my opinion, both approaches are required. The purpose of this essay is discuss the topic as well as point out a balance between both positions.

On the one hand, new railway lines for very fast trains allow passengers to travel faster between cities. For instance, in some European countries such as in Spain and in Germany, very fast trains decrease the time required to travel large distances. Moreover, the comfort provided for modern trains during the trip is another positive aspect to be considered.

On the other hand, the investment required to construct new railways could present more results if applied in existing public transport. This second option are more economic and prevent governments and transport companies to spend more unexpected money to maintain this type of transport in long term.

Finally, considering both approaches, I believe that is possible to priorize some relevant projects to construct new railways as well as to improve the existing public transport. Thus, it is possible to combine both positions as a solution to transport and infrastructure.

In conclusion, it is considered by some that governments should spend public money in new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. However, others think public money should funding improvements in the existing public transport. While new railways allow people to travel between cities in less time and more comfortable, improving the existing transport is more economic and an strategy for long term to avoid unexpected costs.