In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Disucss both thes

There is a debate whether country should spend money for building new rapid train railway lines or bettering current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter view and will explain the reasons.

On the one hand, rapid train is advantageous in reducing traffic congestion. This is because, rapid train can operate swiftly and has special railway lines. Thus, using money to construct more rapid railway lines will support more rapid trains to operate. The more rapid trains that operate, the less traffic jam will occur. However, because rapid train has expensive fare, the possibility for people to be willing to switch from their personal transportation to rapid train will be low. Finally, traffic congestion can not be overcome by the existence of rapid trains.

On the other hand, public transportation also has possibility in overcoming traffic congestion. By bettering public transportation, people will feel more comfortable and safe when riding them. Thus, they will likely to be willing to switch from their personal vehicles to public transportation. Moreover, public transportation such as Bus or MRT usually have affordable prices, which make the possibility for people to switch from their private vehicles will be big, and traffic congestion can be overcome.

In conclusion, using money for constructing more rapid train railways is beneficial because it can help reducing traffic congestion. However, because it has more expensive fare compared to public transportation, I completely agree that the money should be spent in upgrading existing public transportation which has bigger possibility in reducing traffic congestion.