The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

There is an increasing number of older people in many countries around the world. I believe that this trend could have both negative and positive impacts on society.

The main disadvantageous effect relates to the anticipated additional financial costs for pensions, healthcare. In addition, government have to develop custodial services associated with older age structures such as nursing homes, hospitals, public transportation. Meanwhile, the number of young people could be highly decreased so that there will be not enough young people earning the money and paying taxes. The budget on the social security is getting higher and higher while the growing amount of tax income from young labour is more and more decreasing. Thus, the ageing population create a significant economic burden in these countries.

There are also advantages to having an older population, these are often overlooked. The elderly people, obviously, are more experienced and exceptional in certain areas than younger generation and so the society can benefit from them. For example, health practitioners who are aged over 50 year-old are more likely highly-skilled than young doctors. This is because they have studied more cases as their age rose, which means that they not only cure the conventional health problems but also treat some usual diseases with alternative therapies. The second positive effect is that ageing population encourages more young immigrants because of open border policies, especially developed countries like Britain or American. These immigration policies will help draw top talent in other countries and improve public finances.

In conclusion, the increase in older population will have both beneficial and detrimental consequences on economy and on society.