The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

As there is an increase in the number of senior citizens, it has brought both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will outline the pros and cons of this phenomenon.

On the one hand, elderly people are beneficial for the job market since they are experienced in professions such as teaching, mentoring, or research which require people that are rich in experience. They can participate in these occupations, regardless of part-time or full-time. In addition, because there is a growing proportion of grown-up people who have to work overtime, thanks to healthy old parents, they will not be worried about taking care of their children. Moreover, the older generation is believed to preserve traditions. By telling historical stories to their grandchildren or sharing traditional meals’ recipes with the members, they will get a deeper insight into the country’s history and its cultural identity.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that the growing population of older people is putting great pressure on healthcare systems. The older they get, the easier they face chronic diseases including heart attacks, cancers, which require special medical treatments. As a result, the government might have to devote a larger budget to serve the demand. Another problem the government can face is that there will have an increase in the number of retired individuals claiming pensions, as well as a decline in the percentage of people who pay income taxes. This combination might affect government expenditures to other fields and the economy as a whole.

In conclusion, the ageing population is a positive trend, but it is also a negative one at the same time.