Once children enter school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than parents.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is argued that when kids go to school, their intellectual and social development is mostly influenced by their teachers. I completely agree with this view because children will spend most of their time at school and teachers are their first celebrities in their life.

When children start to enter school, they will engage mainly with their teachers and peers than to get in touch with their parents. This is because that most schools nowadays open from 8 am to 5 pm, so kids will have a day-long to associate with their teachers, which is much longer than the time they can spend with their parents. Students not only learn social and scientific knowledge from teachers but also get consultations from them. It is not surprising to see that teachers soon become their big friends and supervisors who kids can trust. For example, the University of Guelph recently reported that 80% of primary students in Ontario think that their teachers are the only reliable people to talk with and they tend to follow their advice.

Furthermore, many students also respect their teachers as perfect models to follow. The reason is that teachers own the necessary conditions to be great people under the views of children. They have advanced knowledge, and great morality, therefore, young students tend to copy their celebrities’ lifestyles and behavior to become similar to them. As a result, teachers will become the most influential people to children, not their parents. For instance, my older son has always admired his English teacher who could speak 5 different languages and is a fashionista. So, he has tried to study additional languages and to dress stylishly.

In conclusion, teachers have greater impacts on the academic and social development of children as soon as they enter school because of the amount of time they spend with the kids and the admiration they have got from them.