Once children start school, the teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than parents.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There have been vociferous voices that claim schools are of paramount of importance to the successful development of the social and intellectual context of teenagers. From my perspective, to hold this point of view seems an example of rational thinking.

To begin with, there are several reasons why the biggest onus is on the schools and teachers. Firstly, it seems quite defensible that syllabus has been designed by expert pedagogical to improve both academic and ethic aspects of students. Having modern course books and continuous formal examination, sensible teachers can recognize talented pupils, subsequently employing effective methods to bring them out the best. Secondly, children can in some cases learn codes of conduct and ground rules from their teachers, hopefully leading to improve their moral standards. Equally, children also face peer pressure which can be either advantageous or adverse, arguably shaping their thinking and social values.

On the other hand, nobody can deny the parental influence on children which is of great benefit. Initially, parents can act as a role model to establish ground rules for behaviour, whereas there seem to be some frictions between parents and children. For instance, while children want to adopt the global culture, parents may force them to confine themselves to traditions. Consequently, some valuable social norms may be ignored which are tremendously beneficial, because children will not be able to tackle problems independently in the future. Furthermore, parents are not as much powerful and trained as teachers to bloom teenagers’ talents in a suitable way.

All things considered, while being in the family is undoubtedly essential for absorbing patterns for behaviour, there are more outstanding merits of schools when they handle children with great care.