One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

An increasingly elderly population with high longevity is derived from medical advanced. However, it might initially appear desirable to be aging of society, but on closer inspection, the idea suffers from several problems.

Arguably the gravest problem caused by longer expectancy rises in the demand for recipients of healthcare. There is a shortage of beds and medical treatment which are keeping the elderly alive in hospitals. In fact, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, which means that young adults will decrease the time to look after their elderly relatives. A further serious impact is an insufficiency of wealth available in society to sustain the retired population. Due to the shrinking workforce and slower growth of population size, governments may well lessen money in taxes. This means that the tax burden on workers becomes intolerably high, and can eventually stifle economic growth.

While it may be correct that old people also offer for other benefits of family, for example, their children may receive an adequate inheritance from their parents who are in a stronger position with better financial security. Addition, older employees have a wealth of experience and specialized knowledge they have obtained throughout their working lives, ensuring the consistency of staff training of an organization. It still appears to be the case, however, that the issues are overmatching by these benefits.

To conclude, the problems of health treatment and tax burden combine together to make life expectancy a challenging, especially when the elderly cannot be independent. This is not to say that all retired people suffer in this way, but it appears to be the case very frequently