One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The question regarding influence of medicine progress on people has always been highly debatable in all the societies. It is argued that one of the main outcomes of medical care achievements is growth of life duration. Although, this provides a lot of benefits, I think that this also produces drawbacks that outweigh the former.

On the one hand, life span increasing affords additional time for a family. This means that grandparents could see not only growth of their grandsons and granddaughters, but also a birthday of a child of their grandchildren. Therefore, people could spend more hours with relatives and satisfy social needs. For example, according to a study of Russian Institute of Psychology conducted 5 years ago, the majority of dying men regret about insufficient time devoted to their family members. Thus, rising of life duration will solve this problem.

On the other hand, this opportunity is required huge amount of money. This is because our unpaid medicine includes only base options of health insurance. Therefore, if a person wants to get more additional variants of medical care using contemporary equipment and technologies, they have to visit private clinics and spend a lot of thousands of rubles. For instance, according to research of one of Moscow clinics made at the beginning of this year, there are almost 25% of residents of the capital preferred to use the services of private clinics. In other words, long life expectancy demands high quality that costs a lot of money.

Even thought, there are an opportunity to live longer and enjoy additional years of life, I think that it is available not for all individuals.