Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

In the digital age, demand for online shopping grow dramatically. While this tendency negatively affects the environment. It is beneficial for increasing job opportunities.

On the one hand, e-commerce development caused increasing in non-recyclable packages. To be more specific, online goods need a lot of paper boxes and bubble wrap. This leads to a large number of trees that get cut to make paper boxes. Mean that it does not only cause a decrease in green cover density but also an increase in environmental issues such as soil erosion, climate change, and so on. While bubble wrap is kind of plastic that takes up to hundreds of years to fully decompose, it is harm for to species. For example, if fish and marine species get entangled in plastic, it will affect on breathing process of species.

On the other hand, online commerce offers people more job opportunities. To begin with, the career can be expanded related to maintaining web systems, such as software engineer, designer, and so on. In fact, it is clear that their salary is more than two or three times higher than other jobs. In addition, it also makes new jobs such as influencer and live streamer. They play a vital role in marketing and advertisements by using and reviewing products of the agency on online platforms.

In conclusion, although e-commerce has a negative impact on the environment, it also is a chance for people who are catching up with this trend. Besides, I hope that the government will give policies to protect the environment.