Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

In this day and age, it is commonplace that people opt for e-shopping in preference to physical stores to go shopping. This trend may have the benefits for the environment and employment in the short term, the handicap; however, tends to be more prolonged in the long run.

Regarding the environment, the rate of heat-trapping gas released into the atmosphere is likely to wane in the first place, as the popularity of online shopping will not necessitate the use of private vehicles anymore. Indeed, goods will be all delivered by a large truck at once. Nevertheless, considering the long term, this will become the hazardous menace to the environment, because the convenience of home-shopping will provoke more and more shoppers to adapt this way, therefore the number of delivery vehicles will skyrocket, leaving the air heavily polluted. Moreover, e-retailing stands to increasingly promotes toxic chemicals usage and animal slaughtering during the speedy manufacture of clothes for humans. Hence, animal extinction will truly worsen the ecological imbalance.

With respect to the influence on the types of jobs in the labor market, various job opportunities with flexibility, such as online grocery personal shoppers, delivery drivers, online sellers and web designers, will be in a high demand, enabling everyone to make a fortune with just a smartphone. Favorable as it is, the bankruptcy of traditional retailers is easily predicted in the future. As a result, the percentage of jobless individuals cannot follow that of online-shopping-related occupations, pushing a country into a crisis of rapid unemployment.

To recapitulate, however shortly advantageous e-commerce is to the environment and labor market, it is obviously overshadowed by the negative aspects in the long term.