The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It would be argued that the only approach to reducing the number of vehicles in big cities is to restrict the working, educational and shopping demand. I firmly agree this is a promising measure, yet i still reckon that it is not the only way.

To begin with, reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education and shopping can be considered as one of the effective practices to ease the amount of traffic in cities. In other words, this means that there would be an improvement of high-technological facilities and online services, online meeting applications which is used for educational and working purposes. Additionally, delivery service would be developed as the demand for online shopping rises. In this regard, concentrating on developing these means of online platforms actually have sustainable impacts on reducing the need for travelling, therefore, ease the amount of traffic.

In addition, from my perspective, this is not the only efficient approach to lowering the number of vehicles. To be more specific, raising fuel prices and creating heavier taxes on personal vehicles ownership can also be regarded as another promising method. By imposing these privacies, people would avoid purchasing and using personal means of transportation, subsequently, the amount of traffic on street would be reduced.

In conclusion, in terms of diminishing the number of vehicles in cities, reducing people's need for travelling can be listed as an effective method, yet i believe that there exists other numerous ways to solve the conundrum.