Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes.

In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children’s lives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Adulthood is an unavoidable progress in every single life, since many people have said that the bonds between parents and children will change as this progress goes on. From my perspective, this could lead to some implications for parents' roles in every part of their children's lives, which are detailed below.

First and foremost, the differences in parents' role in their children's stages are obvious. Before adulthood, children are significantly dependent, but becoming more mature shares the same meaning as becoming more independent from parents. Adult people are able to make decisions without the intervention of their mothers and fathers. In addition, parents might take responsibility for their kids since they were not mature enough for everything they did. However, those who are sufficiently mature, for example, at 18 years old, they have to be careful in everything they do, for an action in an impulsive moment can send them to jail surely.

On the other hand, letting children be responsible for their lives doesn't mean abandoning them. Actually, parents can give some useful and wise advice to their children, as the words of experienced ones are more powerful. Furthermore, children still need a model role to follow to become properly mature. Without an appropriate one to imitate and learn from, they would fall away and be misled on the way to adulthood.

In summary, in my opinion, parents should let their children learn how to be adults without distancing or isolating them. Children should be taught to respect and appreciate their parents' relationship with them, as it may play a role in them becoming truly adults.