People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still don't take responsibility to protect the environment. Why is this? What should be done to encourage people to protect the environment?.

Environmental destruction has been a controversial issue for many years. People are aware on how essential our environment is and they also know that our world is deteriorating due to the harm we inflict in our surroundings. Despite this, some are still not responsible enough in safeguarding it. This essay will outline several reasons for this action and the possible solution to inspire people to save the environment.

Individuals being irresponsible to their surroundings are mainly because of three reasons. One of it is being ignorant. People who live in countries that are poor usually have a dirty environment and this is primarily due to the fact that most of its citizens were not able to finish school or worst, were not able to have basic education. To support that, having no foundational knowledge in sanitation will put the environment at risk due to people not knowing the consequences of their action. Furthermore, how a person is brought up also greatly influence a person's attitude. For instance, a child living in an unhygienic environment will surely live the same way when he grows up. Lastly, people got used to the new developments that made our life easier. Though there are negative effects resulting from technological advancements like cars and air conditions, it made us live our lives in comfort. Nevertheless, people ignore these negative issues due to the convenience it provided us.

Knowing these reasons, some measures should be done to uplift everyone in protecting their environment. To start with, the key to alleviating this problem is for people to be educated. The public should know the effects that the environmental damage will pose to our health, the current issues we are having because of it and its effect in the long run. Government plays a major role in executing this. They are the one who should be responsible for spreading the knowledge to everyone, it can be by obligating the local government offices in conducting seminars for their people or by using media to spread it faster. Finally, they can also implement a legislation so everyone would be obliged to conform to it. An example of this is to fine those who will throw their trash in the street or make sure that people will clean their area, for instance, in wet markets.

Overall, the government would be the one leading their people to change their habit but to be able to save our environment from further damage, everyone should take action and be responsible for this to be successful.