People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

The propensity of living in metropolitan cities is increasingly popular, as places of opportunities. While inhabitants would confront some major drawbacks, I personally believe spurring people to migrate to the surrounding areas is an advantageous method.

Perhaps the worst problem stemming from this is the exorbitant cost of living in the city center. The citizens in the inner cities have to spend the inflated expenditures on houses, transport or even food rather than their neighborhoods. A further problem is that residents have been afflicted with social problems such as poverty rates, violent crimes in comparison with the vicinity. Finally, there are the mental and physical disorders caused to city dwellers by atmospheric pollutant, traffic congestion, and overcrowded public transport system. For example, inhaling the exhaust fumes released by vehicles is the reason for the incidences of asthma and lung cancer. In addition, people would perceive fatigue, commuting stress, and loss of concentration while they mire in jams.

In my opinion, the government should incentive locals to lure away from the main cities. This is due to the fact that this would relieve the current pressure on the infrastructure and consumption demands, leading the cost of reasonable adjustments. Fewer city dwellers would require public services such as hospitals and schools and the roads would more spacious, ensuring a smooth traffic flow with its resultant fewer road casualties and bottleneck. Furthermore, the sources in the countryside and other non-developed regions would be exploited potentially as there might be obtainable workforce there. However, government should consider the optimum conditions of effective method by ameliorating rural infrastructure and issuing appropriate incentive policies. For example, Japan has succeeded in attracting people and businesses to leave Tokyo by using tax cuts and providing the accommodations for new arrivals.

In conclusion, there are many troubles that people in cities are facing, and it is advisable that the government address these problems by encouraging people to relocate to smaller places.