In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Most people agree that gap years of coming fresh out of high school should be induced. they continue to be rather contentious because the benefits are hard to quantify exactly. The essay will elucidate both sides of the discussion

On the one hand, proponents of students who have spent time earning a living or traveling to other places promote the idea that they would flourish the empirical knowledge. Those would experience several hurdles which are occurring in the harsh realities of the world like workplace discrimination, poverty, and others, leading to broadening their horizons. Furthermore, students tend to be more independent and assertive, which is a very important factor in academic study and research. For example, if they underwent devastating problems, they would be likely to maneuver autonomously this repetition.

However, the problem with early employment is that it might divert young adults’ attention from their previous objectives. It might be said that, if these students disengage from school and pursued other ventures, they would be lost their abilities and willpower to learn something carefully and patiently. Moreover, critics of gap years point that most students are not able to choose correct career decision, resulting in wasting time. In fact, those devote themselves to a career without careful consideration that these are mostly ephemeral. As a consequence, those would waste their time and fall behind with their peers. In addition, there is concern over the safety of young people if they are traveling to a remote place. Being kidnapped or mugged is a poor start to an academic career, after all.

In conclusion, it seems evident that the benefits involve that students may gain self-reliance and knowledge, the drawbacks would be distractions from schooling and time-wasting